Burgundy White & Blue Sport Celebrations

On Thursday 26 October, Corpus Sport hosted the 5th annual ‘Burgundy, White & Blue Celebration of Sport Evening’ at the David Heath Community Centre. Approximately 180 guests attended the sit-down dinner and awards ceremony, including past College sporting captains and sports leadership award winners. Guest speakers for the night were Georgie Parker (Hockeyroo, Commonwealth Games gold medallist, Olympian and Collingwood draftee for the upcoming 2018 AFLW season) and Garrick Ibbottson (177 AFL game veteran and life member of the Fremantle Football Club), who both shared their inspirational stories and imparted their advice to the current generation of Corpus sporting stars. During the course of the evening, the College honoured: the Fairest and Best Players from all Southern Associated Schools - Junior (SASJ) and Champion Schools teams; the Best All Round award winners, as judged by coaches and staff; Sporting Colours recipients; Associated and Catholic Colleges (ACC) All Stars; State and National Representatives; and Service to Sport recipients. Other prestigious awards announced included the Coach of the Year, ISP Athlete of the Year and the Sports Leadership Award for 2017.

Corpus Sport would like to thank both the Corpus Cafeteria staff for their exceptional catering and the student Celtic Band for entertaining guests with live music, as well as all staff and students who were involved in organising the event. The Celebration is an important time to reflect on our successes in the sporting arena and look towards another year of hard work, fair play and sportsmanship.

It was a wonderful night of celebrating all that is great about Corpus Sport.

List of Award Winners

Southern & Associated Schools Junior Competition.

            TEAM                                                FAIREST & BEST
SASJ TouchMiddle School Boys                     Byron Devene
SASJ BasketballYear 7 Boys                           Jack Holtom
SASJ BasketballYear 8/9 Boys                    Jacob Delaporte
SASJ NetballYear 7 Girls                              Shanae Ziccardi
SASJ SoccerMiddle School Boys                  Jayden Matson
SASJ CricketYear 7 Boys                       Yibing (Jack) Johnston                     
SASJ TouchMiddle School Girls                      Jenna Tupuhi
SASJ BasketballYear 7 Girls                              Ella Moylan
SASJ BasketballYear 8/9 Girls                       Aisha Forrest
SASJ NetballYear 8/9 Girls                           Ashley Dragon
SASJ SoccerMiddle School Girls              Claudia Bempascuitto
SASJ CricketYear 8/9 Boys                              Tyson Burns

School Sport WA Champion Schools Competition

Netball Senior Girls                                        Keeley Liddelow
SoccerSenior School Girls                       Jessica De Freitas Basilio
Soccer Junior Boys                                          Calum Milne
SoccerSenior School Boys                               Ryan McGee
SoccerIntermediate Boys                                 Kai Katnich
Basketball Senior Boys                                  Zachary Barham
Basketball Senior School Girls                   Gabriella Radojkovich
Dockers Cup SeniorGirls Football                 Lyndsey Fowles
AFL Yr 8/9 Eagles Schoolboys Cup                Joshua Browne
AFL Senior Boys 1st XVIII Football                   Tom Wright
Cricket Senior Boys 1st XI                                Jackson Edgar

Best All Round at Sport Awards

Year 7 Boy           Jack Clutterbuck
Year 7 Girl            Isabella Cross
Year 8 Boy           Cade Ravlich
Year 8 Girl            Carly Pizzuto
Year 9 Boy           Tom Stephenson
Year 9 Girl            Sophie Jones
Year 10 Boy          Harry Cormack
Year 10 Girl           Niamh Pivac
Year 11 Boy           Levi Burns
Year 11 Girl            Jessica De Freitas Basilio
Year 12 Boy           Liam Hislop
Year 12 Girl           Ashley Taylor

Coach of the Year 2017     

Mr Mark Green

ISP (Inclusive Sport Program) Athlete of the Year 2017

Sebastian Dobowski

Sports Leadership Award 2017

Emma Zanoli